This is the "Home" page of the "A-Z Resource List 2013-14" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A-Z Resource List 2013-14  

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2014 URL: http://ncc.libguides.com/a-z Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to begin your research.

Resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals,  books and educational videos. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Newspaper Databases

These databases offer access to local, national and international newspapers.

  • Newspaper Source Plus
    National and International
  • Newsstand
    This full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
  • Newsday
    This database offers full-text articles in Newsday with no images. Coverage: 1985-to present.
  • Historical New York Times  
      
    Search the scanned pages of the New York Times from 1851 to 2007.
 

All Databases A-Z

NCC Library offers access to many databases for research.  Click the tabs at the top of the page to see our alphabetical list of databases.

You must click on a specific database to do a search. Try a General Database to start.

Click Databases by Subject for a break-down of databases by discipline. 

General Databases: A Good Place to Start

We have some databases that provide research for all subjects and are a good starting point for your research. Click on the links to search these databases.

  • Academic Search Complete
    A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
  • General OneFile
    The comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context
    Covers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, Terrorism and more.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue, such as: cloning, immigration, aids.
  • CQ Researcher
    Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
 

Journal Search Box

Looking for a particular journal, magazine or newspaper and want to know if NCC has access? This search box will tell you if we have it and which database to use.  It is not for finding articles. It will only look for periodical titles. Ex. Sports Illustrated.

Search:
       
 

Databases From Home

All databases can be used from home.

You will be asked for your N# and PIN once you click on the link.

 

Contact Us for More Help!

a small icon Call Us at (516) 572-7408
a small icon Email Us at ask@libanswers.com
Check our FAQS or Ask Us
a small icon Follow Us at #NCCLIBRARY
Chat with Us at ncc.libanswers.com
a small icon Text Us at (516) 537-9398
Visit Us at the Library Information Commons

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip