Skip to main content

Information Literacy Tutorial

Our Library's tutorial covers: research skills, critical thinking and information literacy.

Learning Objectives 


At the end of Part 5, you will be able to:

  • Use some simple search techniques to make your searches more efficient and focused
  • Narrow down your results when you get too many to read

     

  

What is a Database?


  • Databases are information resources that are paid for by the library. 

  • Databases contain information that has been edited and fact checked by scholars, librarians and professionals in related fields.

  • Databases include articles, books, images, audio and video files from trustworthy sources. 

  • Although our databases are on the internet, they are not free and only members of the NCC community may use them. If you are not on campus, you will need an N# and password for access.

  • If you use a library's database you can be comfortable knowing that your professor will approve of the source that you use.

How are databases different than the internet?


Another word for the Internet is the free web, it is called the free web because anyone can use it and post information on it.  It is a great tool, but remember:

  • Because the free web is not monitored for accuracy or authority, information found on Google, Yahoo, Bing, YouTube or any other search engine includes information from anyone who would like to post about it- this includes incorrect, misleading or biased information. 
  • Whoever posted the information can take it down whenever they want to. Databases are permanent and accessible as long as you are associated with NCC.
Loading